Skip to main content

Find Newspapers: Shonan Fujisawa Campus

List of Newspapers

This is a list of newspapers that are in the collection of the Shonan Fujisawa Media Center.
Please be aware that the medium and the periods available differ depending on the newspaper.

Location and Usage

Originals
The Shonan Fujisawa Media Center 2nd floor north area Newspaper & Magazine Corner. (Cannot be checked out.)

Databases
Besides the second floor Database Search Corner, the databases can be accessed from anywhere within the campus through the internal network. If the remote access symbol appears on the SFC Database NAVI, then it is also accessible off-campus.

Reduced-size editions
The Shonan Fujisawa Media Center 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

CD-ROM

Closed stack. Please inquire at the Shonan Fujisawa Media Center 2nd floor Reference Desk, or ask a database consultant. To view them, please use the Database Search Corner on the 2nd floor.

Microfilms
The Shonan Fujisawa Media Center 2nd floor north area movable shelves. To use them, go to the Micro Reader Room.

Japanese Language Newspapers

National Newspapers

Newspaper Title Original Database/
CD-ROM
Reduced-size edition Other*
Asahi Shinbun 3 months


From 1879 Kikuzo II Visual

 

From 1996

 

From 1912-1992 Comprehensive list of Asahi Shimbun Newspaper Articles

Mainichi Shinbun 3 months From 1872 Maisaku

From 1996 

From 1973-1980 Mainichi News Jiten

Yomiuri Shinbun 3 months

From 1874 Yomidasu Rekishikan 

From 1994 CD-ROM (Database Search Corner)

 

 

From 1973-1980 Yomiuri Kiji Sakuin (Index of articles)

From 1981-1994 Comprehensive list of Yomiuri Shimbun Newspaper Articles

Nihon Keizai Shinbun 3 months

From 1975 Nikkei Telecom 21

From 1996

 
Sankei Shinbun 3 months From Sep. 1992 The Sankei Archives    

*Unless stated otherwise, held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves

Regional Newspaper

Newspaper Title Original Database/
CD-ROM
Reduced-size edition Other
Tokyo Shinbun 3 months      
Kanagawa Shinbun 3 months      
Okinawa Times Not held

From 1989-1997 CD-ROM※1

From 1997 Okinawa Times Database (can be accessed at the Media Center's 2nd floor Database Search Corner, Computer 1)

 

 

 

 

Ryukyu Shinpo Not held From 1998 Ryukyu Shinpo Database    
Other regional newspapers Not held Nikkei Telecom Master   Inquire at the Reference Desk Staff will conduct searches on your behalf, fees apply. (Weekdays 9:15 a.m.-5:00 p.m.)

※1CD-ROM versions are held at the 2nd floor Reference Desk (Weekdays, 9:15 a.m.-5:00 p.m.)

Special Interest Newspapers

Newspaper title Original Database/
CD-ROM
Reduced-size edition Other
Denpa Shinbun (IT and electronics news ) 3 months  

Issues from 1982-1997 is moving to Yamanaka Book Dipository Bldg. No.2(YBD2)

 
Kotsu Shinbun (Transport Industry News) 3 months   1991-2015  
Nikkan Kogyo Shinbun (Technical newspaper focusing on business and industry) 3 months      
Nikkei Veritas (The Nikkei's weekly news tabloid for finance and investment professionals) 3 months      
Nikkei Ryutsu Shinbun (Nikkei MJ (Marketing Journal)) 3 months

From 1985 Nikkei Telecom 21

From 2001

 
Nikkei Sangyo Shinbun (Nikkei Business Daily) 3 months

From 1981 Nikkei Telecom 21

From 2001

 
Fuji Sankei Business i.
(Previously Nihon Kogyo Shinbun)
3 months      
Kankyo Shinbun(The Environmental News) 3 months   From April 1996   
Toyo Keizai Nippo (Japanese language newspaper focusing on Korean economics) 3 months   2000-2012 Japanese language newspaper focusing on the Korean economy
Nihon Nogyo Shinbun (The Japan Agricultural News) 3 months      
Shinbun Kyokaiho (Mass media news) 1 year      
Bunka Tsushin (Cultural and entertainment news ) 1 year      
Shin-bunka (New Culture ) 1 year      

 Requesting items from YBD2 can be made via KOSMOS . 

◆Political Party Newspapers

Newspaper Title Original Database/
CD-ROM
Reduced-size edition Other
Akahata (Japanese Communist Party newspaper ) 3 months      
Komei Shinbun (New Komeito Party newspaper ) 3 months      
Jiyuminshu (Liberal Democratic Party of Japan newspaper ) 3 months      
Shakai Shinpo (Social Democratic Party newspaper ) 3 months      


Other Newspapers

Newspaper Title Original Databases/
CD-ROM
Reduced-size edition Other
Shukan Dokushojin (The Readers Weekly) 1 year      
Tosho Shinbun (The Book Review Press) 1 year      
Kanpo 1 year(2nd floor movable shelves)

Articles from the most recent 30 days can be viewed online at インターネット官報 (The Internet Kanpo)
For issues from May 1947 use the 官報情報検索サービス (Kanpo Information Search Service)
※To use this service, you should apply at the Reference Desk for staff to conduct searches on your behalf (Weekdays 9:15 a.m.-5:00 p.m.)

From 1883-1952: The 官報 (Kanpo) and Official Gazettes (NDL Digital Collection)

   
Tusho Koho (JETRO World Business News) Not held. Access PDF versions using your ID and Password. →ID/Password request form    

Jukusei Shinbun
​(Keio Student newspaper)

1 year (The latest issue kept at the Newspaper & Magazine Corner on the 2nd floor. The others kept on the newspaper shelves)

   

 

 

Kaigai Ronsetsu Sokuho (Collection of hot editorials from worldwide major newspapers)   From 2003‐2013: Saved every year onto CD-ROM   Ceased on May 31,  2015.
Korea File   From 2000‐2013 Saved every year onto CD-ROM   Ceased on May 31, 2015.
China Watch   From 2000 Saved every year onto CD-ROM   Mail delivery service
Russia and East Europe File

 

From 2002 Saved every year onto CD-ROM   Mail delivery service

 CD-ROM versions are held at the 1st floor Information Desk (Weekdays, 9:15 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.)

Foreign Language Newspapers

Japan

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilm and others
The Japan Times  3 months

From 1998 LexisNexis Academic

Microfilms issued from Mar. 1896 to Dec. 2000 are held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

 

United States

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilms and others
The New York Times
(including Sunday edition)
3 months From 1851-2012 ProQuest Historical Newspapers

From June, 1980 LexisNexis Academic

 

International New York Times
(previously International Herald Tribune      
Tokyo edition)

3 months

From July, 1991 LexisNexis Academic

 
The Wall Street Journal
(including Weekend edition)
3 months From 1889 ProQuest Historical Newspapers

 

The Washington Post
(including Sunday edition)
3 months

From 1977 LexisNexis Academic

Latest 90 days Press Reader

 

 

United Kingdom

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilm and others
Financial Times 3 months

From 1888-2010 Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010
From 1982-the previous month LexisNexis Academic

 
The Guardian 3 months

From July, 1984 LexisNexis Academic

Latest 2 weeks Press Reader

 

The Observer Not held

From Oct., 1990 LexisNexis Academic

From 1791-2003 ProQuest Historical Newspapers

 

The Listener Not held

From 1929-1991 The Listener Historical Archive

 
The Sunday Times Not held

From 1985- LexisNexis Academic

From 1882-2006 The Sunday Times Digital Archive

 
The Times 3 moths

From 1785-2010 Times Digital Archive

From July 1985 LexisNexis Academic

From 1861-1903, 1906-1941 Palmer's Index※

Indexes are kept in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

 

Germany

Newspaper title Original Database Microfilm and others
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung für Deutschland 3 months 

 

Microfilms issued from 1990-2001 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.
Suddeutsche Zeitung

3 months

The latest issue at MMLS


 
Die Zeit 3 months From Nov. 2008 LexisNexis Academic  

 

France

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilms and others
Le Figaro

3 months

The latest issue at MMLS      

From 1997 LexisNexis Academic

Latest 90 days Press Reader

 
Liberation

3 months

The latest issue at MMLS     

 

 
Le Monde

3 months

The latest issue at MMLS      

From 1987 LexisNexis Academic

Latest 90 days Press Reader

Microfilms issued from Jan. 1990- Feb. 2001 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

 

Russia

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilm and others
Argumenty i Fakty 3 months Latest 1 month Press Reader  
Ekonomika i Zhizn 3 months    
Izvestiia 3 months

From 1917-the previous year Izvestiia Digital Archive
Latest a monthPress Resader

Microfilms issued from 1990-2001 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.
Pravda Not held From 1912-the previous year Pravda Digital Archive  

 

Thailand

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilm and others
Bangkok Post 3 months

From Nov. 2012   LexisNexis Academic

Latest 90 days Press Reader

Microfilms issued from 1990-2002 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

 

Singapore

Newspaper title Original Database Microfilm and others
The Straits Times 3 months

From May 1992LexisNexis Academic

Latest a week  Press Reader

Microfilms issued from 1990-2000 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

 

China

Newspaper Title Original Database Microfilm and others
人民日報-北京版-(People’s Daily, Beijing edition) 3 months

From 1946 人民日報 People's Daily databese

From 2000 CNKI CCND※2

Microfilms issued from 1990-1999 held in the 2nd floor north area movable shelves.

人民日報-海外版-(People’s Daily, Overseas edition) 3 months From 2000 CNKI CCND ※2  
解放軍報 (PLA Daily) Not held

From 1956 解放軍報 PLA Daily

From 2000 CNKI CCND※2

 

※1 Historical newspapers (1912-1953) are also available on ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspaper Collection
※2 Articles on politics, military, law, economics, literature, history, philosophy, and science and technology can be viewed on the CNKI and CCND databases. Other fields are not held in the collection.

 

Hong Kong

Newspaper title Original Database Microfilms and others
South China Morning Post 3 months From July 1992 LexisNexis Academic  
明報 (Ming Pao) 3 months    

 

Korea

Newspapers title Original Database Microfilm and others
朝鮮日報 (Chosun Iblo) 3 months From 1920 Chosun Iblo  
東亜日報 (Dong-A Iblo) Not held

From 2001  Dong-A Iblo(can be accessed from anywhere within the campus through the internal network.)

Latest 90 days Press Reader 

 

 

You can search for many other international newspapers using LexisNexis Academic, Lexis.com, and PressReader

 

Contact


Shonan Fujisawa Media Center (Library)
Reference desk (2nd Floor)
:

TEL: 0466-49-3433 (ex. 52520)
FAX: 0466-49-1135
email:

Service hours:
During semester : Weekdays 9:15 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
During long holidays: Weekdays 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Links:
Online Reference 
Our Website
Twitter
Facebook