KOSMOS Help

Select a record from search results. Click the record to view the details. The record includes location of the item, a link to request it, and more detailed bibliographic information. You may scroll the screen to view the sections one by one, or jump to a particular section by clicking the index on the left.

Details for each field are described below.

Exporting records in various situations

①Export to Excel	Downloadable on Excel or CSV file. *Unavailable for the mobile version
②MENDELEY	Exports to Mendeley.
③ENDNOTE	Exports to EndNote.
④EXPORT BIBTEX	Downloads in the format for Tex and reference management tools such as Mendeley. *Unavailable for the mobile version
⑤EXPORT RIS	Downloads in the format for various reference management tools. *Unavailable for the mobile version
⑥REFWORKS	Exports directly to RefWorks. *Only available for users enrolled at Keio University Shonan Fujisawa Campus
⑦PRINT	Submits printing.
⑧CITATION	Displays citation in various styles such as MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard and SIST02.
⑨PERMALINK	Displays a permalink which may be copied and pasted on emails.
⑩QR	Displays a permalink as a QR Code.
⑪EMAIL	Sends bibliographic information by email.
⑫SHARE	Shares a permalink using Facebook and Twitter.

Search articles inside a journal

For specific journal titles, articles included may be searched using the query box.

 

View online

If available online, the link to the full text is displayed in the View Online section. Soon after clicking the link, the rules and notices for using e-resources wil be displayed. Click I Accept on the bottom of the screen to proceed.

• No access available from KOSMOS terminals in the library.
• Your Keio ID and password is required to access from off-campus. *About Remote Access

In Case of Error in Access to the Free e-Journals

When the error message “Oops! it looks like you have attempted to view a page that has not been configured for access” appears, try remote access then re-search the e-journal title on KOSMOS. You may make a remote access just by accessing an authentication-required web page such as Database NAVI.

"Get It" section

In Get It section, you may view the location and availability of the item. You may also place a request here. 
Please refer to Book Delivery/Request as well.

Try filtering by clicking the funnel-shaped icon to narrow records if you get too many items and need to find a particular issue quickly. Filtering by location, volume, year or description is available.

How to interpret holding information such as Call Numbers and BOOKIDs

Each holding record includes a call number. In case of books, the records are listed in call number order.

 

Click the mark on the right hand of  the record you are viewing. The details including the book ID will be opened.

Items marked "NotForLoan" cannot be cheked out.

"How to get it" section

When searching 'Articles', 'Library Catalog (Keio & Waseda)', or 'Everything', you might get search results that are not held by or licensed to Keio University. In that case, "How to get it" section appears on the screen.

 

KOSMOS	Re-searches KOSMOS. In case you get no holding information, just to be sure, try re-searching from this link.
CiNii Books	Searches items held by other universities in Japan.
NDL Search	Searches items held by National Diet Library and other institutions in Japan.
ILL Request (Photocopy)	Navigates to the online request form for Interlibrary Loan for photocopying, i.e. document delivery. You may ask for a photocopy of an item held by a university outside Keio. Photocopying is subject to Japanese Copyright Law. The service is provided in legally appropriate manner.

Details

Detailed bibliographic information is displayed in this section. You may look up each field individually. By clicking a link in the field,  you will submit a new search using the word as a search term.

Virtual Browse

Virtual Browse showcases the covers of the books including the first item listed in Get It section. They are actually placed on the same shelf. The covers are shown in order in which they are arranged, thus in order by call numbers.

• The covers are displayed in order of call numbers. Items held by other Media Center might be shown here together, if they have similar call numbers.

Links

The following links are for searching resources outside Keio University, and for requesting photocopies and items not available at Keio University.

KOSMOS	Re-searches for "Library Catalog (Keio & Waseda)"
CiNii Books	Searches items held by other universities in Japan.
NDL Search	Searches items held by National Diet Library and other institutions in Japan.
WorldCat	Searches items held by other overseas institutions.
Amazon.co.jp	Search for this material on Amazon.co.jp
Google	Searches Google. Some articles may be found on the Internet with its fulltext freely accessible.
ILL Request (Photocopy)	Navigates to the online form for Interlibrary Loan Service for photocopying, i.e. document delivery. You may ask for a photocopy of an item held by other Media Center or a university outside Keio. Photocopying is subject to Japanese Copyright Law. The service is provided in legally appropriate manner.
Letter of Introducion Request	Navigates to the online request form for a letter of introduction, which is required to visit other university libraries. Please note that there are some exceptions; When visiting Libraries of Waseda University (Main Library, Toyama Library, Tokorozawa Library and Sci&Tech Library) , you do not need a letter of introduction. Just show your student or faculty ID card at the entrance.
Book Request (for other university collections or a part of Keio collections)	Navigates to the online request form for other university collections or the book not capable of being requested or put on hold by using the yellow button on KOSMOS.

Citations

The section is displayed on the records of some articles. In the section, the citation network of the article is shown; the publications citing the article, and the publications cited by the article.

Access to e-resources from off-campus, i.e. remote access

Important notice

• According to the license, remote access is permitted only to undergraduate/graduate students and faculty members of Keio University.
• For certain e-resources, remote access is available only to the members of specific campuses. The campus icons   show the affiliation of the users allowed to remote access.
• For remote access, you need your own Keio ID and password. For details please refer to the keio.jp Manual and keio.jp FAQ provided by Information Technology Center.

Click the link in View Online section.

As the initial screen for remote access is displayed, click GO. You will be asked to sign in by your Keio ID.

Read notice and click I accept at the bottom.