Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keio University

Keio University Research NAVI
慶應義塾大学リサーチナビ

Remote Access to Library Resources

What Is Remote Access?

The term refers to the technology that allows users to access a device or a network from an offsite location. It enables you to access eResource from off-campus. By the agreement with the eReource vendors, remote access is limited to faculty/staff members and graduate/undergraduate/correspondence students who meet certain requirements.

Here are the methods of remote access. Choose any of the following:

All above require authentication by Keio ID.

 For more details on keio.jp and Keio ID, please refer to the following web pages.

    About keio.jp *The web page is a part of Information Technology Center's website
    Users' Guide for keio.jp
 *The web page is a part of Information Technology Center's website

 If your home campus is Shonan Fujisawa, you are capable of using VPN also. Click here for more info.

Access from KOSMOS

Access full text from the search result of KOSMOS by clicking the links. Please refer to KOSMOS HELP for more detailed instructions.


  1. Search library items or articles. If you find a link 'Available Online' which is highlighted green, just click on it.

     
  2. Choose one from the options shown in the 'View Online' section, then click on it.

    When you access an eJournal title from off campus, make sure that either   or  is indicated. Those icons mean that the title is remote accessible.
    In case the campus icons are displayed, access to the eJournal title is limited to the members of the corresponding campuses.
  3. You will be navigated to the web page with details on the remote access service. Read thoroughly then click on the 'GO' button on the bottom of the page.

     
  4. You will be required to enter your Keio ID and password then.

     
  5. You will be navigated to the web page with details on eResource. Read thoroughly then click on the 'I accept' button.
  6. Now you are accessing eResource successfully.

Access from Database NAVI

When you access databases, make sure to access the Database NAVI first. Do not 'google' the name of the database in attempt to log into it. You will find the link for the Database NAVI either on the top page of our official website or at the top of KOSMOS screen.


  1. The gateway page is displayed at first. Read it thoroughly then click on the 'GO' button.
  2. Enter your Keio ID and password then.

     
  3. You will be navigated to the web page with details on eResource. Read thoroughly then click on the 'I accept' button.
  4.  Now you are accessing the Database NAVI successfully. Using the system you are able to search and select a database that meets your needs.

    During remote connection, the indicator 'Remote Access' is displayed on the bar at top.
    Make sure that either   or   is indicated. The icon means the database is remote accessible.
    In case the campus icons are displayed, use of the database is limited to the members of the corresponding campuses.

Access from 'keio.jp' Portal

This access method is available to graduate/undergraduate students and faculty/staff members only. If you are a correspondence student, please try other options.

1. Log in to keio.jp Portal using your Keio ID.

  

2. Access 'Remote  Access (KOSMOS/Database NAVI)'  from the facet navigation on the left. Here is the path: Category > Media Center > Remote Access (KOSMOS/Database NAVI)

  

3. Choose your preferred option.

  

4. If you choose 'E-Journals,' you are going to be navigated to KOSMOS. Search eBooks and Journals, and access as instructed here.
If you choose 'Databases,' you are going to be navigated to Database NAVI. Search your preferred database and access. For details on the remote accessible databases, click here.

VPN Access *for Shonan Fujisawa Campus members only

If your home campus is Shonan Fujisawa, you are capable of using VPN. Click here for more info.

Contact Information

 Need help for remote accessing?

Ask a reference librarian on any campus, or reach out to us online.

 Need help for keio.jp or Keio ID?

Reach out to the Information Technology Center on your home campus.