Remote access service enables you to access eResource from off-campus. By the agreement with the resource vendors, remote access is limited to faculty/staff members and graduate/undergraduate/correspondence students who meet specific requirements.

Here are the methods of remote access. Choose any of the following:

• KOSMOS mainly for eJournals and Books
• Database NAVI for databases
• K-Support or Keio.jp Portal for all types of eResource 
  *Not for correspondence students
• Keio University GakuNin System (ScienceDirect / Scopus / NII-REO / WestlawNext)

All the above require authentication by Keio ID.

 Please refer to the following web pages for more details on keio.jp and Keio ID.

    About keio.jp *The web page is a part of the Information Technology Center's website.

 If your home campus is Shonan Fujisawa, you are capable of using a VPN also. Click here for more info.

You can access full text from the KOSMOS search results by clicking the links. Please refer to KOSMOS HELP for more detailed instructions.

1. If you find a link, 'Available Online,' highlighted in green, just click on it.
   
    
2. Choose one from the options in the 'View Online' section, then click on it.
   
   When you access an eJournal title from off campus, ensure that either   or  is indicated. Those icons mean that the title is remotely accessible.
   If the campus icons are displayed, access to the journal title is limited to the members of the corresponding campuses.
3. You can navigate to the web page with details on the remote access service. Read thoroughly, then click on the 'GO' button at the bottom of the page.
   
    
4. You will then be required to enter your Keio ID and password.
   
    
5. You will be navigated to the web page with details on eResource. Read thoroughly, then click on the 'I accept' button.
   
6. Now, you are accessing eResource successfully.

When you access databases, make sure to access the Database NAVI first. You will find the link for the Database NAVI either on the top page of our official website or at the top of the KOSMOS screen.

1. The gateway page is displayed at first. Read it thoroughly, then click on the 'GO' button.
   
2. Enter your Keio ID and password.
   
    
3. You will be navigated to the web page with details on eResource. Read thoroughly, then click on the 'I accept' button.
   
4.  Now, you are accessing the Database NAVI successfully. You can search for and select a database that meets your needs using the system.
   
   During remote connection, the indicator 'Remote Access' is displayed on the bar at the top.
   Make sure that either  or  icon is indicated. The icon means the database is remotely accessible.
   If the campus icons are displayed, the database is limited to the members of the corresponding campuses.

This access method is available only to graduate/undergraduate students and faculty/staff members. If you are a correspondence student, please try other options.

1. If you are a student, log in to the K-Support using your Keio ID. Choose "Apps" first, then choose 'Remote  Access (KOSMOS/Database NAVI).
   
   If you are faculty/staff, log in to the keio.jp Portal using your Keio ID and access 'Remote  Access (KOSMOS/Database NAVI)'  from the facet navigation on the left. Here is the path: Category > Media Center > Remote Access (KOSMOS/Database NAVI)
   　
2. Choose your preferred option.
   
3. If you choose 'E-Journals,' you will be navigated to KOSMOS. Search for eBooks and journals, and access them as instructed here.
   If you choose 'Databases,' you will be navigated to Database NAVI. Search for your preferred database and access it. For details on the remote-accessible databases, click here.

You can also access some e-resources using Gakunin. Click here for the details.

• Science Direct, Scopus
• NII-REO
• WestlawNext

Science Direct/Scopus

1. Access ScienceDirect or Scopus and choose "Sign In."
   
2. Then choose "You can also sign in via your institution..."
   
   If the window below appears, choose "Sign in with a different account."
   
3. Enter your Keio ID.
   
4. Choose "Sign in via your institution" and log in with your Keio ID.
   
5. Choose "同意" (Accept) and access the e-resource.
   

NII-REO

1. Access NII-REO, and choose "Online Journal Archives" or "Humanities & Social Sciences Electronic Resources."
2. Choose ”Login" on the upper right.
3. Enter "慶應義塾大学" (Keio Gijuku University.)
   
4. Access as instructed here.

WestlawNext

1. Access Database NAVI and log in with your Keio ID.
2. Choose "同意" (Accept) to access WestlawNext.
   

If your home campus is Shonan Fujisawa, you can use a VPN. Click here for more info.

 Need help with remote accessing?

Ask a reference librarian on any campus, or contact us online.

 Need help with keio.jp or Keio ID?

Reach out to the Keio Information Technology Center on your home campus.