Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Keio University

Keio University Research NAVI
慶應義塾大学リサーチナビ

For New Students: How to Use Media Centers (Libraries)

Basic Library Guide for new students
COVID-19: Updates on library services & operations
MitaHiyoshi | Shonan Fujisawa (SFC) |

About

Welcome to Keio University! We have various types of libraries where 7 of them are freely accessible to undergraduate students. You can use any of them at your preference and convenience. Our libraries house approximately 5 million volumes of books and journals. Online databases, eBooks, and Journals are also available. Learn more about our libraries by reading this guide. We hope it will help you a lot.

Media Center Website

Please get started by accessing and bookmarking our website. The website enables you to get various services: searching library materials, accessing online resources, placing requests, reaching out to librarians, etc. It also provides you with general information such as loan rules, hours and schedule, details on library facilities, and library news. 

Keio University Media Center Website - https://www.lib.keio.ac.jp/en/ 

Searching Library Materials

KOSMOS is the online catalog for the library holdings on all Keio campuses. It includes almost all of our collections, either in print or digital format.  Your Keio ID is required to access the online resources from off-campus.  *Not available before enrollment.

In order to access KOSMOS, click the link below or simply visit our website. You will find the KOSMOS search box on the top page.

KOSMOS - https://search.lib.keio.ac.jp

KOSMOS is more than a searching tool. It also enables you to request library material(s) held by other Keio University libraries, renew your loan periods, view your loan history, organize your favorites, and more. Read KOSMOS Help to learn more about the system. 

Borrowing, Returning and Renewing

Your student ID is required to borrow or return library material(s). Bring the card along with the material(s) to the circulation counter. Note the name of the counter varies among the libraries. It could be "Main Counter,"  "Information Desk," or others.
The below table shows you the general loan rules. You cannot extend your loan period if the item is reserved by someone else. Those rules are applied to most of the library materials. However, there are some exceptions. Some materials are subject to other rules or unavailable for loan.

Loan Period Maximum Length of Period or Renewal Number of Loans

Undergraduate Students: 14 Days
Graduate Students: 30 Days

90 Days  No Limit

*The overdue fine is 10 JPY for an item per day.

Using Online Resources

We have huge collections of e-Books and Journals. Search them on KOSMOS just like printed items. See KOSMOS Help for details. We also subscribe to hundreds of databases on various disciplines, including primary sources, newspaper articles, abstracts, etc. Try Database Navi to find databases that match your needs. Your Keio ID is required to access Database NAVI from off-campus. *Not available before enrollment.

Database Navi - https://auth.lib.keio.ac.jp/db/

For Your Assignments, Papers and Presentation

Here is our web tutorial KITIE. It gives you hints for working on your assignments, papers, and presentation.

KITIE - https://www2.lib.keio.ac.jp/project/kitie/en/