Skip to main content

Find Keio University Theses/Dissertations: Medicine (Shinanomachi)

Master's Theses

【 How to Find 】

Master's theses are not searchable on KOSMOS or other databases.  To find a specific master's thesis, please inquire at the Shinanomati Media Center.

To see a list:
You may look through the list (on paper for office use) of theses going back to the 1995 academic year.  Please ask to see it at the Circulation Desk.

【 Location 】

In the closed stack cabinets of the Shinanomachi Media Center.

【 Access to the Material 】

Library staff are in charge of theses, so please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

【 Photocopy 】

In principle photocopies are not permitted.  However, since the 2005 academic year, making photocopies is possible only for those the author's consent has already been obtained.  For information on whether specific master's theses may be photocopied or not, please inquire.
You may not make photocopies of theses from before the 2004 academic year.

Doctoral Dissertations

【 How to Search 】

The searching method differs depending on the year of the dissertation.  To begin, please select the year.

  From the 2009 academic year onward

Many doctoral dissertations are also published in academic journals.  Use the following sequence to search and obtain the edition it was published in.  If a photocopy is not need, you may read the original copy.

A.  If you don't know details, such as only knowing the author's name

  1. Access the NDL-OPAC (National Diet Library Online Public Access Catalog)(free of charge), and click "Use only search function."
  2. Click the "Advanced Search" tab, and check only "Doctoral Dissertations" under "Material Types" and search using the author's name, etc.  If you want to limit your search even further, enter "慶應 医学 博士論文" in one of the search fields and select "note" in the dropdown bar next to it.
  3. Confirm the correct dissertation title, year, and author (proceed as below).

B.  If you know the details such as the author's name, title, etc.

  1. If the title of the dissertation is in Japanese, look up the author or title in the Ichushi Web (Japan Medical Abstract Library)(accessible at all campuses and remotely) or CiNii Articles (accessible at all campuses and remotely).
  2. If it is an English dissertation title, please search the author and title on PubMed@KEIO (free of charge).
  3. Once you have found it, confirm the journal it was published in, the edition, and the year, and then search the journal.  (Some may have a link to the full text.)
  4. If you do not find it, you may read the original copy, so please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

To see a list:

You may look through the list (on paper for office use) of dissertations going back to the 2002 academic year.  Please ask to see it at the Circulation Desk.

  For dissertations from the 1960 academic year to the 2008 academic year

Many doctoral dissertations are also published in Keio Igaku (the Journal of the Keio Medical Society) or other academic journals.  Use the following sequence to search and obtain the edition it was published in.  If a photocopy is not need, you may read the original copy.

A.  If you don't know details, such as only knowing the author's name

  1. Access the NDL-OPAC (National Diet Library Online Public Access Catalog)(free of charge), and click "Use only search function."
  2. Click the "Advanced Search" tab, and check only "Doctoral Dissertations" under "Material Types" and search using the author's name, etc.  If you want to limit your search even further, enter "慶應 医学 博士論文" in one of the search fields and select "note" in the dropdown bar next to it.
  3. Confirm the correct dissertation title, year, and author (proceed as below).

B.  If you know the details such as the author's name, title, etc.

  1. If the title of the dissertation id in Japanese, search by author or title on CiNii Articles (accessible at all campuses and remotely), to check which volume and issue it appeared imn Keio Igaku.
  2. If it is an English dissertation title, please search the author and title on PubMed@KEIO (free of charge).
  3. Once you have found it, confirm the journal it was published in, the edition, and the year, and then search the journal.  (Some may have a link to the full text.)
  4. If you do not find it, you may read the original copy, so please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

To see a list:

You may look through the list (on paper for office use) of dissertations going back to the 2002 academic year.  Please ask to see it at the Circulation Desk.
Alternatively, you can look at the year-by-year list in Keio Igaku.  Please see the last issue of each year.

  For dissertations from the 1959 academic year and earlier

Please inquire at the Shinanomachi Media Center.  As the collection is unsorted it may take some time to find the material, and in some cases it may no be in the collection.

Also try the following method (Checking the National Diet Library Collection)

  1. Access the NDL-OPAC (National Diet Library Online Public Access Catalog)(free of charge), and click "Use only search function."
  2. Click the "Advanced Search" tab, and check only "Doctoral Dissertations" under "Material Types".
  3. Enter "慶應 医学 博士論文" in one of the search fields and select "note" in the dropdown bar next to it, and search using the author's name.
  4. If there are any hits, you can confirm the correct title of the dissertation, as well as the year and author's name.
  5. Inquire at the Shinanomachi Media Center whether they have it in their collection.
  6. Even if it is not in the collection, you can access it at the National Diet Library (it can be sent from the Kansai-kan to the Tokyo Main Library).

 

【 Dissertation Abstracts and Evaluation Summaries 】

From the 1960 academic year until and including the 2008 academic year, dissertation abstracts and evaluation summaries are published in the back of each volume in the Keio Igaku.  After the yellow page at the back of the year's final issue there is the heading "内容および審査要旨 [Content and evaluation summary]" in which a list of degrees awarded (date awarded, degree code, name, etc.), dissertation titles, the abstracts of each dissertation, and summary of evaluation results are published.

 

【 Location and Browsing 】

  • If what you are looking for is published in academic journals such as the Keio Igaku, please use them.  All issues of the Keio Igaku since the first issue are in the Shinanomachi Media Center Basement Library Stacks, and you can access e-journal versions from 2003 to 2009 (free of charge).
  • Original copies from the 1960 academic year onwards are kept in the Shinanomachi Media Center closed stack cabinets.  Library staff are in charge of them, so please inquire at the Circulation Desk.
  • Original copies from the 1959 academic year and earlier are kept in a remote stack room, but not all are in the archives.  If it is in the collection, it will be sent to the Shinanomachi Media Center for your use.

 

【 Photocopy 】

Photocopies of Keio Igaku and other academic journals in their entirety is permitted, however, according to copyright law, photocopies of the entire original doctoral dissertations is not. (Up to half is allowed.)

Contact Info (Shinanomachi)

Keio University
Shinanomachi Media Center

Reference

TEL:
03-5363-3725(ext 62755)
FAX: 
03-5363-3859 
email: 
smc-ref@lib.keio.ac.jp
Online Refernce

Linkd:
Website / Twitter